Driver Responsibility Assessment
The Driver Responsibility Assessment fee is a charge issued by the New York State Department of Motor Vehicles that is independent of any fines, surcharges, or court fees already paid for a ticket. A driver will incur a Driver Responsibility assessment after pleading guilty to violations totaling six or more points in New York within an 18 month period. The Driver Responsibility Assessment is assessed against all drivers regardless of the state or province of your license.
Speeding 21 mph or more over the limit is a six point violation. If you are convicted you would have to pay a $300.00 Driver Responsibility Assessment in addition to the fine. Additional points are assessed at $75.00 each. You won’t know you are going to receive this additional penalty until after you pay the fine and at that point it is usually too late to do anything about it. Tickets can be very costly in New York. Contact this office for a free consultation BEFORE you plead guilty.
Call for help with all of your legal traffic problems
The Mafrici Law Office, PC. handles hundreds of cases in the TVB each year. Please contact us for a free quote.